Two more reviews submitted from our Blind Date with a Book program. Patrons checked out books that had been covered up so they could not see the title, but we had provided a few words describing the book. If you participated in this program, then today (Tuesday, March 7) is the last day to submit your review and qualify for our drawing for prizes!

Book review by Jan for:


I Shall be Near to You, by Erin Lidsay McCabe

Was it a love match? What did you like/not like about it?

I enjoyed the story. I felt it portrayed the emotions of the main character very well. It was believable and well-crafted.

Tell us three adjectives that describe this book:
engaging, heart breaking, absorbing

 

Book review by Jeanne for:


Veil of Lies, by Jeri Westerson

Was it a love match? What did you like/not like about it?

Yes – very intriguing book – excellent description enabled me to be watching all action in my mind. I was disappointed in last chapter as Crispin Guest moves away from marriage chance.

This was such a good book. On my own I probably might not have checked it out by the title. I was unfamiliar with the author, but now I will read the best of J. Westerson’s books.

Character Crispin Guest was similar to Houdini in escaping his bound legs & arms when he found himself in Thames River.

Tell us three adjectives that describe this book:
Historical – London when Richard II became king at age 10
Masquerade – Imposters of identity
Identity – reallocation of titles, bureaucracy of trade

