I want to share some creative endeavors by local teens this summer.   Their photos portray the theme of the Teen Summer Reading Program , “You Are Here”.  Enjoy!  They are also on display in the Teen Area for the month of August. Check them out.

Jonathan Lim, Grade 11, Dougherty Valley High School

                                                                          

   Gone Fishing

 In June 2010, my family and I traveled to Vietnam to go to a place where people seldom go.  Halong Bay lies on the coast of Northern Vietnam right below China.  Halong Bay is a UNESCO World Heritage site known for its beauty.  Halong Bay contains nearly 2000 granite rock islands formed by erosion spread over 1550 square kilometers. The photo was taken with a digital camera while on a fishing boat sailing through the bay and I waited for the perfect moment to take the shot.

Rachael Heiman, Grade 9, Foothill High School

The Tea Garden

This picture was taken in San Francisco at the Japanese Tea Garden.  It shows me in front of a Buddha statue in the garden.  The effects in the picture are inspired by a style used by Andy Warhol.  It is mostly showing teens as part of a diverse culture.

 

 

Vivian Sung, Grade 10, Dublin High School

In My Heart

“You are here – in my heart.”  Though no one remembers who said this, everyone knows its meaning in depth.  A heart of paper wishing stars represents the wishes come true in eternal love; even if at present, wishes are still made to bring back the lost love.  Love is our travel and journey of a lifetime. “Nemo nisi mors” – No one but Death shall part us.

 

 

 

Ayesha Omerali, Grade 11, Foothill High School

 Night Lights of Marrakech   

While roaming the markets of Marrakech, I couldn’t help but stop and admire the beautiful lights from the lantern shop. I had to take a picture of the scenery in an attempt to capture what my eyes saw.  So whenever I look at this photograph, I can feel myself back in Marrakech.

 

 

 

 

 

Dhyani Parekh, Grade 9, Foothill High School

 

 Nature’s Gift

This photograph is of Big Sur, CA.  It is one of my personal favorite places to visit and many people have never even heard of it.  I wanted to share my interests with everyone and let them see nature’s gift.

