Have you ever looked at a photograph in an album and wondered what you were thinking when you snapped that photo?  Do your parents have photos of you in their album that you would love to remove and destroy?  If so, you’ll certainly enjoy the New York Times bestseller, Awkward Family Photos.   Choosing from photos on the their hit website AwkwardFamilyPhotos.com, screenwriter Mike Bender and television show producer Doug Chernack  put together a compilation of photos of embarrassing and amusing situations that nowadays – due to the popularity of digital cameras – rarely get developed, much less placed in physical or online albums.  The photos are arranged according to topic – family portraits, siblings, mom and dad, vacation, birthdays, weddings, etc. 

I found myself laughing over several of these photographs and a few I could not resist showing to co-workers.  After reading this book, I decided to go through all those old shoeboxes containing photos I’ve yet to (or will never) place in albums and eliminate every photographic  faux pas to protect my reputation in the event of my untimely demise.

Awkward family photos / Mike Bender & Doug Chernack

New York : Three Rivers Press, c2010    818.602 BENDER

