Good resolutions are simply checks that men draw on a bank where they have no account. – Oscar Wilde

Always bear in mind that your own resolution to succeed is more important than any one thing. – Abraham Lincoln

Resolve to perform what you ought; perform without fail what you resolve. – Benjamin Franklin

With the year 2009 fast upon us, Dublin Library is displaying a mix of books on stress management, getting organized, fitness, creativity, and other topics felated to starting major changes in your life in the new year.  In keeping with this display, I’ve asked my co-workers about their resolutions for the new year. 

Hector – My New Year’s resolution is to shed the extra weight I picked up during the holidays.

Daniel – My resolution is to stop making jokes about recovery groups.  For instance, I used to say: “Hi, I’m Dan.  I’ve been sober for 30 days… well, not in a row!”  I want to be more serious abou the problems of people in recovery.

Rosemary – I’ve made the same resolution for the past several years.  I resolve to not make any of the resolutions I didn’t make the year before.  It’s worked out quite well – no disappointments!

My own resolution is to keep on walking a mile daily on my way to work, whenever possible.  I also resolve to have the patio overhang repaired this year.  (That second resolution should make my spouse happy!)

