As October begins, the new school year has officially kicked into gear and so has the Homework Help program here at the Dublin Library!

My name is Rebecca Martinez, and I am the new Homework Help Program Coordinator. 

Rebecca Martinez, Homework Help Coordinator

Rebecca Martinez, Homework Help Coordinator

 I have been lucky enough to take over a wonderfully established program that truly enables children to receive homework help from awesome local high school students who are excited to assist them.  Currently, I am a student myself at California State University, East Bay, pursuing a degree in Communication and a minor in Recreation.  I have been a teacher’s assistant for the Mt. Diablo Unified School District for the past 7 years.  Needless to say, I am thrilled to be here.

Local high school students who were seeking to become volunteer tutors came in a record number on Friday, September 26 for the volunteer orientation meeting.  It was there that all 20 interested students signed up for days to offer their assistance to children in grades 3 to 8.

“I don’t have a job right now, so I thought I’d do community service,” said Frank, a volunteer tutor and senior at Dublin High School.  “I’ve done this before and it was really fun.”

As of this week, these volunteers have been on hand four days a week, Monday through Thursday, from 3:30 to 5:30 p.m. to help students understand and complete current homework assignments as well as teach them how to utilize the many resources available here at Dublin Library.

Students seeking to take advantage of the services are allowed to drop in anytime during the two hour session–our amazing volunteers are here to offer help!

“I love it,” said Riyadh, a student at a local elementary school. “Last year I got a lot of help and it’s nice to have a quiet and peaceful place to do math, social studies, science, and the rest of my homework.”Dublin Library Homework Help

For this trimester, there are far more volunteers than we expected, so there is no shortage of on-hand assistance standing by.  We are here to answer any questions you might have and are eager to help. If you are a student or know a student who is interested in the Homework Help program, feel free to drop-in and see us any day or everyday Monday through Thursday between the hours of 3:30 and 5:30 p.m!

Posted by  Lee Jouthas on behalf of Rebecca Martinez~

